July 22, 1995 – Saturday – 9:50 p.m.

At this moment, here in my corner of North Carolina, the air is peaceful.  It is misty and quiet outside.  Only the crickets are talking.

I watched Star Trek: The Motion Picture tonight.  It made me realize that if I was all alone, I would create someone like Emily to commune with.  So, that is why God created me.  Therefore, I will worship and commune with Him and in doing so, he wishes to give me the desires of my heart which opens the door to thousands of little stories each day.

It is as simple as that.

This morning at McDonald’s, I ran the back drive-thru booth.  Barbie did not work today, but she came through the drive-thru with her sister and friend.  She looked different.  She was beautiful.  She said that tomorrow was her birthday.  She will be 21-years-old.  Hopefully, I will see her next weekend.

To continue with Emily and I…we wrote each other for almost two years.  Even while I searched for things in Ryan, Christi, Jenna, Tenielle, and Jeni, I wrote to her.  Around the time Jeni and I broke up, she opened up a little more and so did I.  Our letters began to express personal feelings and I called her on March 26, 1995.  We have been calling and writing ever since and have decided to meet in person in eleven days.

I would go into more detail with each letter, but I’ve written many of them in the pages of these journals and I’m sure whoever you are in the future that has found this collection of my Books of Days, that those letters from Emily are not far away.

Goodnight Emily.

And goodnight Jesus.

May I have a peaceful sleep.

Leave a Reply

