January 26, 1997 – Sunday – 2:30 p.m.

Yesterday was a very interesting day. As I prepared myself for Bible Study in the morning, the Lord told me to do a foot washing service.  I wasn’t sure I wanted to do that because they can really be uncomfortable.  But I obeyed.  We were going to have Bible Study at 4:00 p.m.

I went to lunch and walked back with Jeni and Abigail.  Abigail was really down.  Her mom had called her that morning.  Her mom had talked to K.C. the night before and told her that he was interested in another girl and not Abigail.  So, I was afraid that doing a foot washing later in the day would be too much for Abigail’s tender heart.

And, I was right.

I went ahead with it.  I read from John 13 and 17, then I read them my journal entry from January 18th.  I shared with them that I have learned of something that has been around for a long time:  love.  I played Jars of Clay’s Love Song for a Savior, and we began washing each other’s feet.  It was myself, Jeni, Abigail, Jessica, Shawna, and Alex.

Abigail sat motionless on my bed and began to cry.

I washed each person’s feet.  Afterwards I hugged them and told them that I loved them.

Everyone was very quiet.  The Spirit of God was there.  It’s been nearly 24 hours since those moments and I can’t get them out of my mind.

Dawn came up to me later at dinner and asked me if I could help her get closer to God.

I told her I would love to help.

I beginning to understand why Jesus died.

I would easily give my life for my friends.

One thought on “January 26, 1997 – Sunday – 2:30 p.m.

Leave a Reply

