January 8, 1997 – Wednesday – 11:45 p.m.

After my journal entry I went to Journalism class then to lunch.  I sat down with Jeni and Abigail.  Abigail didn’t say much.  She seemed a little bummed.  They left and I wasn’t finished eating, so I went to go sit with Dan and Kate.

I couldn’t get Abigail off my mind this afternoon.  I prayed for her; just for the Lord to bless her.  Then I tried to call her.  Jessica answered the phone, but Abigail wasn’t there.  I went to my Shakespeare’s Tragedies class and then came back to my room at 3:00 p.m.  Again, I began to pray.  Timothy came and visited me.  I had a class to go to at 4:00 p.m., but right before I left, Timothy called up Ann-Marie’s room.  Abigail was in there and he invited them to go to the Daily Grind with him.  I was bummed because I had class.  Well, Timothy waited for them and I went to my class, however the professor wasn’t there so we were just handed a syllabus and were dismissed.  I ran back to Timothy’s room, praise God they hadn’t left yet.

Abigail had a smile on her face when she saw me.  So the four of us drove to the little coffee house down the road; each of us got a hot chocolate.  We talked and talked and Abigail told me that when she went back home K.C. acted like nothing special had ever happened between them.  She told me that she pretty much cried over the entire break, but that she knows she just has to get over it.

Ann-Marie missed last night’s Bible study, so I asked the clerk if she had a Bible, she did, and we had a little Bible study again.  Abigail told me that I would get along well with her father, that we would talk endlessly about the Bible.

Her eyes and smile were so beautiful.  It blessed me to know she saw her father in me.

We left and went to the cafeteria for dinner.  The two of us sat at the same table.  She is just amazing.  We had team meetings tonight, and I sat with her and Ann-Marie.  Then tonight at 8:00 p.m., there was special performance of a play called Quilters, and there too Abigail sat next to me.  We talked a lot before the show started.  We talked about her family and her church.  The play began and during the whole play Abigail bit her fingernails.  Her teeth clicking against her nails filled the air and it was a beautiful sound.  I want to hear it always.

After the show we all went to Vince’s room to watch Ann-Marie’s Newsboys video.  I laughed a lot, it was cool.

I was near Abigail for the entire evening.

What a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

