December 9, 1996 – Monday – 6:10 p.m.

I took an exam this morning.  I did pretty good.  I went to lunch at 11:30 a.m.; Abigail and her mom were sitting alone at a table.  I sat with them.  Abigail asked me how I was and I told her “great.”  She got up to get some food.

While she was away, her mom looked at me and said, “Jacob, Abigail really appreciates your spirit.”

My heart melted and I immediately looked up to spot Abigail’s cute profile as she waited in line.  “Yeah?” I said.

“It’s really good to have a spiritual influence away from home.”

“Well, she’s done the same for me.” I said.  “She’s the first person I’ve met here in the past two years that comes from the same spiritual background as me.”

Her mother told me that she went to Lees-McRae nearly 30 years ago and met her husband on the first day she arrived.  They’ve been together ever since.

My work for the semester is finished.  I did a jury scene today and my Reader’s Theater scene performed as well.  Everything went well.  I’ve worked really hard this semester.

Christmas has come again.

A smile is on my face.

Beauty is in this place.

Thank you Father for your grace.

 

Leave a Reply

