December 5, 1996 – Thursday – 11:20 p.m.

I am nearing the end of my final week of classes.  The last day is tomorrow.  All my class work and final exams have been finished except for three projects.  I leave on Wednesday.  Timothy is going to take me home.  He lives in Randleman, so hopefully we will meet over the break and hang out.

I called Tenielle tonight.  She is waiting for me to return.  She told me that Cheryl doesn’t come to church anymore.  She still smokes, so that’s a bummer, but I can’t wait to hold her.  I told her I was scared about coming home.  I feel like a stranger to that world.

“You’re not a stranger to me.” she said.

Come this Sunday, I will have known Tenielle for three years.  She is 15-years-old.  She has seen too much for such a young girl.

I’ve been stage managing the Christmas show the past couple of nights.  It’s kinda fun; in fact really fun.

It snowed tonight.  The ground is covered.  Christmas time has come again.  I will spend it with family in Virginia.  I can’t believe 1997 is creeping up behind us.

Where suddenly have I gone?

Am I the same person I was when I first met Tenielle?  Am I the same person I was last year?

All the performing arts students make candle light wishes in front of the audience at the end of the show.  I wonder what I’ll wish for…

Leave a Reply

