August 25, 1996 -Sunday – 4:10 p.m.

I met her on September 9, 1994.  It was after an Avery High School football game.  Charlie and I went over to Sharon’s house after the game.  But Laura’s name does not find it’s place in My Book of Days until February 11, 1995.

Neither Rachel Anne nor Cindy got up to come to church today.  I sat alone on a pew, with a little space between myself and the edge.  There was enough space there for one beautiful dark-haired girl.  I sat there for what felt like forever and just craved for her to appear beside me.

Then suddenly, she was there.

Dressed in skin-toned pink.  I slid over an inch and she sat down.  I could smell her.

She came and sat by me.

Laura.

Her beautiful voice filled the space between us.  Words escaped my mouth, but I cannot recall what was said.  The service began.  When the special music time came, Sharon and Hannah stood up on the stage and their voices filled the sanctuary, my ears, and my heart.

Jimmy, our worship leader, looked at me during the service and smiled.  Tracey stared at me.  Both of their eyes said the same thing, “Wow, Laura is sitting with Jacob.”

Sharon and Hannah’s song lasted a lifetime, it felt as if they were my mother and sister, and the big question I asked myself on the 17th appeared before me.  And then an answer began to float around: perhaps I could have both.

I believe something is beginning.

Curtis asked me if Laura and I were getting close.  I smiled.

I haven’t been able to get her out of my mind today.

Molly even raised an eyebrow at me after the service.  It feels like the whole church noticed.

Can this be happening God?

Can this be you?

Please Father.  You are so smart.  I love you more and more each day.

Laura, this has been one of the greatest days of my life.  This warm summer air. The beautiful sunrise, and you next to me.  I’m so happy.  I don’t think I’ve ever been happier.  I could stay this way forever.

Leave a Reply

