July 21, 1996 – Sunday – 11:05 p.m.

It is July.  A month of freedom and warmth.  A time for sunshine and running barefoot in the grass.  And like every month it seems, a time to see a girl and feel as though every microscopic fiber of your being had been struck by lightning.

The sun came up today, but I didn’t see it rise.  I slept in a little late.  Warm water that soon turned cold showered down my body and I became much more awake.  Today was the final day of VBS.  All the skits I taught the children during the past week were performed this morning at church.  They all did a great job.

Sharon came up to me afterwards and said, “It is so great to have you at this church Jacob.  Watching these skits made me realize how much God has blessed us and how hard it is going to be to let you go in a couple of years.”  She hugged me.

Lunchtime was awesome.  Allen and Curtis and I filled the cafeteria with laughter.  Allen and I ushered and then watched the first act of The Fantasticks.

Dinner came and then another performance.

And as I stood in the lobby, I continued to look out the window to see if she was there.

And then she was and a tingle went through my spine.

She smiled.

I smiled.

We talked.

She hugged me.

Nearly a month since that sparkling grape drink.

After the show and our goodbye, I went to make a round through Canon Cottage and I stopped to visit Rachel Anne.  I invited her to church.  Perhaps she’ll come.  She offered to give me a massage.  She’s very good at it.

She knows of my birthday in August.  She said she wants to take me dancing.

And so anther day passes.

Another show ends tomorrow.

Three weeks left of Psychology.

And I’m haunted by what Sharon said today.  It will be time for me to leave soon.  But this has all happened too fast.  I’ve only just begun.  How can my time here already be half over?

The stars twinkle

The moon grows bright

I am alone

Here in the night

The clouds hover

The sun grows bright

I am alive

My soul is white

Leave a Reply

