July 8, 1996 – Monday – 2:30 p.m.

So far, a very interesting day.

Last night I was on duty and after ushering for the show I made my rounds throughout back campus.  I talked with a few of the summer studies girls and as I was going through Canon Cottage I introduced myself to a new girl.  Her name is Rachel Anne.

I went to sleep, but was awoken by a loud radio outside.  I went down to discover in was Rachel Anne’s room.  I told her about quiet hours, and she apologized and turned it down.  She asked me where registration was; she didn’t know the campus that well, so I told her I would meet her at 10:00 a.m. to show her around.

I then went and spent about 40 minutes talking with Ivy and Melissa.  They gave me a doughnut.  I’ve never really talked to those girls much before, but they’re really sweet.

This morning I met up with Rachel Anne.  She wasn’t completely dressed with I knocked on the door and I wondered if that was by design, but we spent the day registering for classes, buying books and supplies and getting her post office box.  We even walked over to Nations Bank and she started a student checking account.  Most of this required extensive waiting in lines and during that time we talked.

As the day passed, I continued to watch her.  She is nearly the exact likeness of Christi, except much cuter, which I didn’t think was possible.  She is only 17-years-old.  She turns 18 on the 27th of July.  She told me about herself and how she likes to help people.  She is not a Christian, but wishes to learn more.  She was just so nice and adorable during the entire morning we spent together.  We talked about so much.  I look forward to seeing her again.

Lord, please let me be someone special to her; someone she can trust.  May she learn to trust you Father.  And may my trust in you continue to grow.

Leave a Reply

