July 7, 1996 – Sunday – 6:20 p.m.

As it grew close to 3:00 p.m. this afternoon, I was tearing up ticket stubs near the entrance to the theater.  I turned to my right and saw a face I recognized; a face that also once satisfied my hunger and thirst.

She approached me, her ticket in hand.

“Hi,” I said.

“Hey, oh don’t you look nice in that vest and bow tie!”

“Thanks.”

Then she came to me and put her right arm around my waist and her head on my shoulder.  “It’s good to see you.”

“Thanks, enjoy the show.”

The show began.  Allen and I went to join Curtis in helping some folks carry luggage up some stairs.  I was paid $23.50 for an hour and a half of work.

We went to eat dinner.

Then, at 5:30 p.m., I went back to the theater to catch the end of the show and possibly someone else.  I saw her at the foot of the stage, complementing the performers.  I went down and sat at the foot of the stage knowing she was headed in that direction.  She saw me and shook my hand.

“Oh, and you did a great job as well!” she laughed.  We said our goodbyes, but in the process I gave her my phone number and told her to let me know the dates she was coming to the other shows later in the summer so I could get better seats for her.  As I wrote my number down on her playbill she said, “Thanks, and hey, I’ll also call you just to see what’s up!”

“Great!”

And I saw her smile.

Leave a Reply

