June 8, 1996 – Saturday – 10:30 p.m.

Charlie picked me up for the Avery High graduation this morning.  It was nice.  Melissa, Meredith, Crystal, and others graduated.  We spent the afternoon at Sharon’s.  They were having a family reunion cookout since two members of the family graduated:  Melissa and Jill.  A huge family and there was little me in the middle of them all.

I was invited.

I wonder if they all know how wonderful they have it and how beautiful their love for each other is?  I almost cried while there today.  I simply felt so accepted.  I want so much to be a part of that family.

Another family came over to visit in the afternoon.  Their son Matthew is so funny.  He had me laughing so hard I cried.

Warm showers came off and on over their property and for the evening, Charlie, Laura, and myself went to see Twister in Boone.  Laura enjoyed it.  She had not seen it yet.

She and I sat down while Charlie went to buy popcorn and for a few moments it was great to know that when I am an old man I can say that I even sat next to the beautiful Laura in a dark theater.  Today was one of the best days.

I told Laura that I want her to be the girl who stands for Jesus in the skit we are performing on the 30th.  She stands by him, even to the point of death.  When I told her, she jumped up and wiggled her body in excitement.

“Yes, thank you!  I wanted to be her!”  She said with the brightest smile.

At that moment, I believe something was planted inside me.  I realized that I made Laura happy for one brief second in this life.  And now I have a desire deep within me to do it again and again and again.

For the very end of December, Charlie is planning a trip for the High School and College class at church to go to Disney World for four days.  Laura and I were talking about it.  We’re really excited.  That is just a little over six months away.

But I’m happy to be right here, exactly where I am.  Let the future take its time.

I’m not going to spend my life waiting for the next big thing, I’m going to spend it living in the amazing moment that surrounds me.

I’m beginning to wonder if I long to be a part of Laura’s family, or if I just long to be a part of Laura.

Leave a Reply

