May 21, 1996 – Tuesday – 4:30 p.m.

Ten more days.

Life doesn’t make sense here.  Nothing does.  I long so much to return to Banner Elk.

I am unable to sum up my sophomore year at LMC because my 9th Book of Days is stored away, but I will soon return, unpack it and dwell in those memories.

There are times when I feel so lost and alone here.

Sunday night on the way back from High Falls, I stopped to watch the perfectly round sun sneak down behind the trees miles and miles away.

That same sun has been watched by so many others.

I wonder which one is mine.

You know, everyone tries to be different and unique, but we are all basically the same.  We all need water, food, and shelter.

We are all equal.

Yet each one perceives the whole world is there for him or her.

I do remember this land when it is joyful:  Christi, Ryan, Amy, Cheryl, Jason, Anne, Scott… That was three or four years ago though.  The joy that remains here now, is knowing that I will return to my mountains.

I do remember when I dreaded to say goodbye, but now I see it as one of the greatest days of my life.

Ten days is way too long.

Leave a Reply

