May 2, 1996 – Thursday – 9:00 a.m.

The dream I dreamed during the midnight hours of the 20th and 21st of April came true yesterday.  After I picked up trash for three hours (community service) I checked a few people out of their rooms and then Laura came and picked me up at 3:30 p.m.  We had a nice drive to Boone.  While we were in the waiting room, we both watched the most adorable little girl play.  We went to the bank, drove around, and then went back to her house.  Then we went to church after we ate something and after church myself, Vince, Curtis, Dan, Allen, and Ellen went over there for a fellowship time before the summer comes.  We had a lot of fun.

I spent half of yesterday with Laura.  I woke up this morning thinking I had been dreaming.  But it was true this time.  The key ring I bought her was on her keys.  And that evening at church as we were waiting for everyone, I asked her the question I have been wanting to ask her for a long time.  I said this:  “Laura, when you’re lying on your bed at night, staring out your window, what do you think about?”

And for the first time, I saw her face actually show an expression of thought and she wisely said, “When is it going to change?”

Oh, she has so much to learn.

After we left, Curtis stopped the car on the side of their long driveway so we could all take a leak on the hill side covered in Christmas trees.  Curtis and Ellen stayed in the car.  I and all the others hid in the trees; the moon was full.  We all ran around the hillside, simply being free.  Curtis drove around and then came back to get us.  Then he drove up and turned around in the paved area near the house and I saw Laura’s window.  The same one she looks out of at night.

We drove back down.

I looked at the moon.

I looked at the hillsides.

“I will walk along these hillsides in the summer ‘neath the sunshine, I am feathered by the moonlight, falling down on me.

I will walk along these hillsides in the summer ‘neath the sunshine, I am feathered by the moonlight, falling down on me.”

I am feathered by the moonlight.

I awoke at 8:00 a.m. this morning and checked Jeff out of the dorm.  He is not returning next year.  I watched him drive down the hill.  I am glad I was here to see him come and go.  Charlie and I went to breakfast.  He stayed up all night just to write a paper.  We had a good time and laughed a lot.

Charlie was here to see me come.  I am here to see him go.

Step back.

See it all from a distance.

All of it.

We are feathered by the moonlight.

Leave a Reply

