April 29, 1996 -Monday – 12:15 p.m.

Yesterday was really nice at church.  I brought the key ring to give to Laura, but when the service started, she wasn’t there.  For some odd reason I was nervous and kept replaying in my mind what I was going to say, even though she wasn’t there.

But then, she was.  She came in late.  I could see her out of the corner of my eye.  After the amazing service was over, I went up to her and said something, but now I have no memory of the words that escaped my mouth.  But I do know that I did give her the key ring.

She smiled and almost seemed a little surprised, but at the same time, looked like a little girl at Christmas opening a gift she already knew in advance she was receiving.  She said, “thank you” about three times and showed it to her dad.  I watched her hands as she opened it.  Her fingers were shaking.

That afternoon, Vince, Dan, and Jeff and I went up to Grandfather Mountain.  The wind was blowing so fast up there.

I took two exams this morning and did really well.

In a week’s time, I’ll be back at McDonald’s.  But in a little over a month, I’ll be back here. I begin RA training on August 13th.

And four days after that, I’ll celebrate my 20th year in the shadowlands.

Leave a Reply

