April 17, 1996 – Wednesday – 1:30 p.m.

Four months from today, I will no longer be considered a teenager.

This afternoon after lunch, myself, Dan, Allen, Vince, and Charlie and took a small adventure into the past that I, nor Dan, Allen, and Vince were a part of.  The five of us snuck into the Old Tennessee Dorm.  It’s been shut up for the past two years.  Charlie lived there during his Sophomore year, the last time it was in use.  His roommate was Steven.  We all went to his old room on the third floor and their two names were still on the door.

It was a haunting sight.

In less than three weeks, Charlie’s time at Lees-McRae will be finished.  I am staying for his graduation.  I wouldn’t miss it for the world.  He was the first person I met here.  He immediately took me in, welcomed me, mentored me, and inspired me.  He has taught me and he has made me laugh.  He’s also made me cry.  If it were not for him, I would not be where I am today.  It’s because of him that I attend Heaton Christian Church.  It’s because of him that I’m an RA.  It’s because of him that I know Sharon and her loving family.  Through Charlie, the Lord welcomed me into a new family, the same exact minute I walked into this very Residence Hall.

That is the goodness of God.  He makes those transitions in life and should be insanely difficult, as simple as walking through a door and saying hello.

If you ever read this Charlie, I love you man!

Leave a Reply

