March 19, 1996 – Tuesday – 12:45 a.m.

I awoke Monday morning in my ancient room from so long ago.  I did my laundry, vacuumed, and even washed the dishes.

Mom would not allow me to see Jenna and Tenielle, so we went straight to the doctor’s office in Pinehurst.  Dr. Brenner looked at my finger, then said, “What do you want to be?”

“A filmmaker.”

“Well you can move your pinky fine.  It may look a little crooked, but you don’t need a pretty finger to make good movies.”

So, I’m not having surgery.  Praise God.

Henry drove me back up to Banner Elk.  We stopped by K-Mart in Boone and picked up my pictures.  They were black and white, from the beginning of the year.

So, here I am in my room.  I wonder…if these walls could speak…what stories would they tell.  Would they mention Syndi and I holding each other on my bed while we watched TV?  Would they remember Allen, Dan, Vince, Curtis, and I video taping ourselves talking?  Would they remember Dan and I playing Tetris?  Would they remember Allen and I praying for his salvation?  Would they remember me, alone, looking out my window, remembering the time Murrell and I sled down the hill.

I wonder.

Leave a Reply

