March 17, 1996 – Sunday – 11:30 p.m.

Twenty-four hour ago, I was in Las Vegas, Nevada.  Now I’m in Mount Vernon Springs, North Carolina.

Brandon and I awoke Saturday morning and did some shopping with Sara and we all ate lunch at Red Lobster.  While Sara took a nap, Brandon and I went rock climbing.  We headed towards Phoenix at 6:00 p.m.  Once there, we walked around the mall, then drove to the airport, he stayed with me until I got on the plane.  I shook his hand, and he said, “thanks for coming out.”

I enjoyed my time in Arizona.  It will always be cherished.

I flew to Las Vegas and spent an hour there then flew to Atlanta.  From the Atlanta airport I took the Marta train to Brookhaven.  Curtis gave me the wrong number, so I couldn’t get a hold of him.  I spent two hours waiting.  Then, I called my mom, she called information and got the right number.  Curtis came and got me.  I slept in his bed and played with Chili, his dog, for a while, then we headed to North Carolina.  I slept most of the way.  We got to Banner Elk, but I was supposed to meet my mom at 6:00 p.m.  I am going home to get a second opinion on my finger.  Therefore, once I got to Banner Elk I left for Siler City, which is where I am now.

This place smells wonderful.  My room is warm and I can sleep there now.  I went for a walk and was reminded of the joys of this place, especially this past summer.  Water gun fights with Mike and Jonathan.  The picture of Emily on my desk.  That was May of 1995.  It’s already March of 1996.

So much is ahead of me.  Yet so much is behind me.

I have one moment under heaven.

Yet each second seems like a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

