March 15, 1996 – Friday – 9:01 p.m.

Wednesday was Jenna’s birthday.  I called my two friends from here out west and I was reminded of how much I need them and how much they are a part of me.  Tenielle was excited to talk to me.  She said that she wrote me a long letter and sent it in the mail.  I talked to Jenna, who just turned 16, and they told me that they loved me when I said goodbye.

Yesterday, Brandon and I went to town and ran some errands.  We met Sara and they went shopping for a pet rat, but ended up buying a bunny.  It is adorable.  We spent the evening at Sara’s apartment with her

I’m not sure about those two.  I asked Brandon if he thought they would last, and he said they better.  But not only do they have a bunny, they have a baby coming in September.  They are stuck with each other.

Today we went to garage sales, but bought nothing, then took a drive through Jerome and Cottonwood to Sedona.  We picked up some hitchhikers and took them to Cottonwood.  We saved them about a two days walk.  The sites were beautiful.  I took a lot of pictures.  I felt like a child again, being born for the first time and discovering the world.

Last week was terrible, this week has been amazing.  A whole new world.  All new people.  I’ve learned by watching this family and by watching Brandon and Sara.  And I have one day left.

I discovered an hold tape here and on it was written Christmas Come to Detroit Louie.  It was a play performed at Abundant Life on December 15th and 16th of 1990.  I was in it.  My first public performance and I got all the laughs.  It’s on tape.  I have proof.  How I long to grow in my work as an actor and filmmaker.  It burns inside me.  I think about Braveheart and how it reminds me of Jesus, a man who died for someone else’s freedom.

The sights today were so big.  How small I am.  How simple, yet how complex.

Here, I look above me and see a sky I’ve never seen before.  I look at me, and I realize for the first time, I am alive.

And everyone else around me…they are too.

Leave a Reply

