March 13, 1996 – Wednesday – 9:30 a.m.

Monday, Brandon and I plus his two younger brothers went to the Grand Canyon.  It was so huge.  Way bigger than I ever thought it would be.  God is an amazing artist.  I took some pictures, but they didn’t do it justice.  There’s no way you can fit that whole thing inside a frame.

That evening, we went to see Up Close & Personal.  It was good.

Tuesday, we visited Sara’s family and rented Braveheart.  I watched it up until the betrayal and then left with Brandon’s parents to attend a revival service down in Mesa.  We praised the Lord and then I went up for prayer and was slain in the spirit.  A nice time.

There was a beautiful girl there.  She looked at me and I at her.  Her eyes were endless, but then she looked away and left through a door.  I followed.  Our eyes met again.  Then she drove away.

We ate at Applebee’s on the way home.  I heard a couple my age behind me full of conversation and laughter.  And I longed to simply find a girl I could talk to, to listen to, to laugh with.  Then I watched our beautiful waitress, and I wondered the kind of happiness she had known.

I slept on the way home.  It began to rain.  It grew cold.  And I awoke to find that it does snow in the desert.

This is a beautiful state.  I am glad I came to visit.  It has caused me to be so full of thought.  I do love Banner Elk.  Although it can be troublesome and stressful, it is my home for the moment.  I thought about Sharon and her family.  Yes, I thought about Laura.

It is nearly the ides of March.  My fourth semester is half over.

Nothing gold can stay.

Leave a Reply

