December 17, 1995 – Sunday – 1:52 p.m.

For the third morning in a row, I woke up in this wonderful house.  Church was really fun as usual.  A lot of people complemented me on the performance of Christmas Comes to Long Star Gulch last night.  Not only did I direct, but I played the lead as well.

During the service, I sat in front of Melissa.  She seemed down and lonely. There is a part of the service in which people greet one another.  I turned around and hugged Melissa and said, “Vince wanted me to tell you Merry Christmas.”  Her face it up and a breath of teary, joyful relief burst from her body.  She smiled.  She seemed so beautiful and innocent.  I’ve never seen Melissa that way before.

Perhaps I am helping these two souls.  And perhaps at the same time, I am, unknowingly, helping myself.

Lees-McRae College has taken me many places.  Heaton, Cincinnati, Albany, and now…Lone Star Gulch.

Leave a Reply

