October 5, 1995 – Thursday – 1:00 p.m.

Do you remember that big storm I told you about in yesterday’s entry?  Well, it got bigger.  And I quickly learned it wasn’t just any old storm, but a little something called Hurricane Opal.

Big+Hurricane

It game up from the gulf.  We don’t have any power and the whole area is flooded like it was back in January.  The first floor of McAlister was flooded, as are many of the other dorms.  My room is okay.  I’ve been up since 4:30 a.m. taking care of things.  Classes have been cancelled and trees fell on several students’ cars.

Things are pretty bad.

The phones are out and the water has been contaminated.

Last night I studied with Allen and Lindy for a computer test that was cancelled.

The wind is blowing so hard outside right now.  Everyone is leaving to try and head home, but I’m on duty tonight and the rest of the weekend.

I’ll be stuck here.

Here is this building, alone.

Leave a Reply

