August 24, 1995 – Thursday – 10:45 a.m.

I went to two classes this morning.  Art Appreciation and Computers.  I have one more at three o’clock.

Today, after my Art Appreciation class, I went to the Chaffee Building to talk to the Director of Financial Aid.  After our conversation I headed back out and there I saw Syndi.  Her red hair was down, flowing as she walked.  She looked at me and smiled, but couldn’t talk.  She has a soar throat.  We walked a little ways together.  I told her some things and she just smiled really big.  That bright red hair and no voice!  She was just like Ariel!

ariel

We talked for about 45 minutes on the phone last night.  It’s so great knowing she is here.  I want to help her.  I want to show her Jesus.

I have found myself thinking about her.  I have found myself wanting to hold her.  Hold her like I held her during the midnight hours of May 7th and 8th.

She asked me about Emily.  I told her.  She tells me about her Eric.  But she says she is leaving after this semester to go to a University in Tampa.

While walking yesterday, we came across a beautiful home for sale.  She pointed to it and said that would be our house one day.  Every flower she saw she picked and gave it to me.

But she needs and wants a friend who will take care of her.

And that friend is me.

Syndi.  My little mermaid.

She is, and forever will be, special.

Leave a Reply

