May 3, 1995 – Wednesday – 7:40 p.m.

About an hour ago I was walking out of the cafeteria following Charlie so I could go to church with him.  He was holding the glass/metal door open for me, but when I was about 10 feet away, he let go of it.  The door was slowly closing and I put my hands forward to push it open again.  But, the door didn’t budge, and since I was walking super fast, I just slammed right into it, mainly my head.

Embarrassed, I pushed it again and walked through.  I was expecting to hear a world of laughter, but I didn’t.  Instead, I felt light headed.  I sat down on the steps and held my head.

Charlie yelled back, “Quit playing Jacob!  We’ve got to go.”

Then Allison came through and asked me if I was okay.  I lifted my head from my hands and heard her scream, “Oh my gosh!!”

I looked at my hands…they were covered in blood.

So…I got hit by a door.  It just came out of nowhere.  And, well, I have 12 stitches to prove it!

Charlie went on to church and Allison took me to the emergency room.  I spent nearly an hour in there, but now I’m back in my room and my head hurts only a little.  I will most likely have this scar on my head for the rest of my life, but it’s under my eyebrow so it shouldn’t be that distracting.

Life…

Just when everything is going swimmingly, doors come out of nowhere and remind you how mortal you are.

Leave a Reply

