April 8, 1995 – Saturday – 10:10 p.m.

Charlie and I went to Boone tonight just for the heck of it.  Then we went to his house so we could pick up his laundry.  While there, he showed me some pictures in his old yearbooks.  He knows so many stories about this land and its people.

Kate was supposed to come over and see him tonight, but for some reason I’m not sure of, she didn’t.  So, Charlie came in and laid on my bed.  He was bummed, but I didn’t know that at the time so I was joking around with him.  He got up and said, “Screw you, fag!” and left, slamming my door.

That really hurt me.  So, I needed a little love.  I called Jenna and Tenielle.  Tenielle answered and she immediately told me about how she witnessed to one of her mom’s friends.  She said she had spent a lot of time praying for him.  That girl loves to pray.  She is so sweet and doing really well.  Jenna was great as well.  She was in a hyper mood.  They were outside swimming.  They are looking forward to having me over for the summer.  They’re the greatest girls on the earth.  And they tell little me that they love me every time I talk to them.

Thank you Jesus.  Those two girls have kept me alive.

Until my journey’s end

I have found two faithful friends

Tis but a taste of what awaits

In love’s sweet name

And here’s another taste:

I told Emily I was going to call her back Sunday night to talk about seeing each other over Easter.  I couldn’t wait until tomorrow night so I called her tonight.

She was happy to hear from me.  She said that since her mom was going to be out of town, I couldn’t come down.  So, we will try to make better plans this summer.  She had a lot of friends over, so she had to go, but she said she wanted to talk to me about some other things, so I told her I would call back tomorrow as I had originally planned.

She sounded beautiful.

I called Charlie and told him I was sorry and that I didn’t know he was bummed.  He said thanks for calling, but I could tell he didn’t want to talk.

Out of all of my friends in this world, I only found Jenna, Tenielle, and Emily to turn to.

All girls.

All far away.

All love me.

I love them all.

I have them and my Jesus.

That’s all I need.

Leave a Reply

