March 7, 1995 – Tuesday – 4:45 p.m.

When lunchtime came around today, I saw an empty seat at the table where Derek, Tracey, and Jeni were sitting.

“Can I sit here?” I asked.

Derek said, “No.”

I sat down.

“Why are you still here?” he asked.

“I figured you were kidding.” I replied.

So I ate my meal and no one said a word to me.  Then, as I got up to leave, I said, “Well, thanks for helping me look like I had friends.”

I left.

During work study I checked my email.  I had three messages.  The first was from Jeni.  She goes on to tell me that she doesn’t understand me and that she doesn’t say much because she doesn’t have much to say.  Her letter was two screens long.  All she did was justify herself to make her a good little girl.

I replied back with a message that said, “You go girl!  You sure can talk a lot through a computer.  How about we just communicate that way from now on.”

I also got a message from Jonathan.  I got about four from him yesterday.  He wants to transfer to ASU.  It’s 20 miles down the road.  He also wants to spend the summer with me up here.  We will probably rent a house or an apartment with another guy.  Details will come as time passes.

As for Emily, she is one of the greatest friends I have these days.  I thank God for her, and Lord, I ask that you bless her greatly.

Leave a Reply

