January 27, 1995 – Friday – 1:20 p.m.

Today has been great, but last night was not.

Last night I was going to watch Silence of the Lambs.  I had never seen it, but it did win the Oscar for Best Picture a few years ago, so I wanted to see it for that reason alone.  It was fine, but I didn’t like it that much, but Jeni was disappointed in me for watching it because of some of its subject matter.

Then, I started thinking about home, and it hurt because I am homesick for a home that doesn’t exist anymore.  It has all changed.

Jeni’s homesick, but she can go back home.  It has hardly changed at all.

I can’t go back.

So, it was a rough night.

In fact, it has been a rough week.

But this morning, Jeni and I went for a walk.  We stopped at the bridge that runs over Elk River and we talked, prayed, kissed, and laughed.

Things will get easier.

January is quickly coming to an end.

February is so close.

On March 10th, spring break begins.  Jeni and I will either be in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida or Cincinnati, Ohio.  We haven’t decided yet.

School gets out for the summer around May 15th.

Another summer.

The summer of ’95.

Hopefully I will visit Deep Creek and Fishnet again.

But then again I don’t really know what will happen.  We shall see.

I love Jeni and I love this cold weather, but I’m looking forward to the warmth.

Leave a Reply

