September 23, 1994 – Friday – 11:50 p.m.

What a Friday it was!

Jeni and I ate breakfast together this morning.  She is so great.  We also ate lunch and dinner together.  The two of us and Richard, Tracey, Ellen, Chase, and a few others, played spoons (a card game) up in Richard’s room.  We then took Ellen to a little camp down the road and played some games there.  We played “This is a what!” as well.

Jeni and I did our laundry together tonight.  And afterwards we went up to her room.  We watched Dick Van Dyke with Tracey.  After it was over, she walked me back to my dorm, but for some reason we just walked right on past it and went down to Elk River, crossed the bridge and sat there above the waterfall for a while.

As time passed, I asked her if she wanted to pray.  She said yes.  We prayed for us.  We prayed that God would keep us close to each other and close to Him.  We prayed for our future and our years here at college.

Tonight, Jeni told me about how her last boyfriend gave her a teddy bear when they broke up.  There was a rubber band on it that she had never taken off.  And she said that she wouldn’t take it off until she found a guy she like more than him.  She took the rubber band off last night while I was in her room.

We basically just sat there in the dark with our arms around each other and the sound and the mist of the waterfall filling the space around us.  I told her how beautiful I thought she was.  We told each other why we were so attracted to each other.  Then, in the midst of that conversation, I said, “Can I kiss you?”

“If you want to…” she said.

And then, for what seemed like eternity, we sat above the rushing water, with our bodies so close together and kissed each other.  She put her tongue in my mouth.  It was awesome.  My first kiss.

I walked her back to her dorm and we kissed again.

“You’re so cool,” I said.

“I think you’re awesome,” she said.

I kissed her again and said goodnight.

On September 23, 1994 I kissed the prettiest girl in the world.  My first kiss, yes, but it didn’t feel like it.

May I sleep in your peace Lord.

Leave a Reply

