September 16, 1994 – Friday – 11:55 p.m.

Tonight was the first best night of my life since I came here to Lees-McRae.

There was a performance tonight by the African-American Dance Ensemble.  I was supposed to go with James and the other Knight in Mattress, Chris.  I went to Boone with them before the performance, so I sort of wanted some new company.  Charlie was on duty so he couldn’t go, but he said Kristi was going with some girls from the Bible study group that met in her dorm.  He then looked at me funny and said, “that girl you were sitting next to at the Bible study on Thursday is going.”  He was obviously referring to Jeni.  I called Kristi, but she wasn’t in, so I just decided to go and see what would happen.

I saw Jeni and her roommate Tracey walking around the campus with Tracey’s parents (it’s Parent’s Weekend).  Jeni saw me and waved.  I waved back.  She asked me if I was going to the performance.  I told her yes and then I walked around with them until the performance started.

We were seated and couldn’t stop talking.  After about thirty minutes the performance started  and it was one of the most amazing things I have ever seen.  I sweated just watching the thing.  Jeni loved it.  Tracey, by the way, is one of the girls who helped work on the house last Saturday.

Near the end, the leader of the ensemble asked everyone to stand as he said something and then he asked us to hold hands.

I held Jeni’s hand for the second time.

Then after his little speech, he asked us to hug three people.

I hugged Jeni for the first time.  Hopefully the first of many.

As we walked back they asked me to come up into their room.  We looked at Tracey’s photo album, talked some more and then I left.

This girl loves to dance, she loves music, but she loves Jesus even more.

I really like her a lot.  For two nights we would just look at each other off and on during rehearsal.  And then we began talking about Christian stuff.  I held her hand and now I have hugged her.

Isn’t that how it’s suppose to happen?  And all in the span of about five or six days.

I don’t know how this will turn out or what will happen next.  But God, I ask you, if it is your will for us to be together then please make it happen.  And if it is not, then please let us be good friends.

Take care of her Lord.  Be with her when she needs you.  Allow me to be a comfort to her.  Let us grow closer to you and closer to each other.

I thank you for it in Jesus’ name.

Leave a Reply

