August 14, 1994 – Sunday – 2:00 a.m.

It’s been a long day (Saturday).

Marcus and I arrived at Joel’s house early Saturday morning, like around 1:15 a.m.  He talked about Cheryl.  I told him what I knew and what she told me.  He said he wasn’t worried, because he had bought her a bracelet and a T-shirt.  It cost him $45 and he said, “So, do you think she’ll still resist me after that?”

Weird.  I told him I didn’t know.

We played cards and the way he talked and stuff…he is definitely not the same Joel.  He told me these dirty jokes and tried to get me to smoke.  I didn’t get to bed until 5:00 a.m. and I got up at 6:30 a.m. to get ready for band practice at church.

We all three got there on time and Cheryl was there.  Joel tried to put the bracelet on her, but she said she wanted nothing to do with him and she wanted nothing from him.

Jonathan joined us after band practice and the four of us went to Christi’s.  Hank and Patti were the only ones there.

Joel is on the rebound so every little girl he sees he goes crazy over.  Hank is helping him get back on track work wise, as is Scott, Veronica’s stepfather.

I saw Veronica today.  She is growing up so much.

We went to McDonald’s and Joel began talking with Danielle who works there, you know, that blonde haired girl.  Well, Marcus and I left him to go to Cheryl’s.  We stayed to watch Ace Ventura Pet Detective and then brought her back with us to McDonald’s.  She told us Ryan wants to do something with us, but since Joel is getting on our nerves, I plot to set it up to where he can’t join us.  But I’ll get to that in a minute.

We find out later that Joel and Danielle go to the park and make out, French kissing and all.  And guess what?!  He gives her the $45 worth of stuff that he originally bought for Cheryl.  Today was the first day he laid eyes on the girl.

So we decide that we’re going to go see Forrest Gump in Aberdeen tonight after youth group.  Joel finds out about it and he assumes I am paying his way since he has no money.  We don’t want him to come, so I call Ryan and ask her to tell her mom to tell her she can’t go in front of us whenever we come by there later to pick her up for youth group (she didn’t have to work).  And when Joel sees that she isn’t going, then we’ll all decide to not go and Joel will ride back home with Becca’s family.  He asked to spend the night, but I told him it wasn’t a good night.

All of this happens knowing that after youth group the four of us, Ryan, Cheryl, Marcus, and myself are going to go see Forrest Gump without Joel.  Joel didn’t find out we were plotting against him and he went home after youth group.  Jonathan came with us to see the movie and Ryan drove.

I enjoyed the movie much better this time.  No vomit.

Jenna and Tenielle both game me a letter tonight.  Tenielle’s makes sense.  Jenna’s is stupid and immature.  

However, the night was amazing!  Forrest Gump taught me so much.  Is there a destiny?  Or are we just floating around here on a huge wind?

It’s a little bit of both.

I was with four other great friends that I’ve known for so long, seeing one of the greatest films ever made.

“Life is like a box of chocolates…you never know what you’re gonna get.”

Leave a Reply

