June 24, 1994 – Friday – 10:40 p.m.

Well, there it is!

Orientation is over!

I got back about an hour ago.

My room assignment is 205 McAlister Hall with a guy named Devin.  I haven’t met him yet, but I gave him a call and it turns out he is at Lees-McRae for Summer Theater.  I talked to his mom and she will tell him I called.  He is from Virginia.

Today went well, but it was short.  A lot of pretty girls will be Freshmen next year; that’s for sure!  I met a guy named Jason.  We ate lunch together and he’ll be in the same dorm as me.  The room is small, but I know I can make it my home.

My home.  I felt it.

I didn’t feel out of place.

New people to meet.  New teachers to get used to.  Dude!

I did see The Lion King today.  Simba reminded me of myself.  It is time for me to go off and be me.  Thank you Jesus!

But before Lees-McRae begins there are still 64 days of right here.

Scott said he will probably be able to go to Deep Creek, but Joel can’t make it.

It looks like it will only be five of us this time.  There were eight of us last summer.  Has it already been a year since I first met Emily?  I wonder if she’ll ever write me back?

Fishnet is right before Deep Creek; only about 12 days away.

And when I get back from Deep Creek, I’ll only have 42 days left!

Leave a Reply

