June 2, 1994 – Thursday – 11:20 p.m.

Today was my first real day of summer.

Only 87 more of them.

Here’s what I did:

After I woke up real early I took Kevin to the McDonald’s in Sanford where he is working now.  I came back and took mom to work and drove home.  At home I laid out in the sun and lifted weights, but obviously I didn’t do both at the same time.

At 1:00 p.m. I went to graduation practice and saw everyone for one last time.  After it was over I went straight to Jenna and Tenielle’s so their mom could cut my hair.  Since Shar wanted everyone to go skating tonight, Jenna and Tenielle came back with me to pick up Nate at the babysitter’s and then to pick Mom up in Pittsboro.  She drove us back and dropped us off at Mike’s.  We then rode with him to the Skating Ranch.

It was Country Music Night, but I had a good time, nonetheless.  

Jenna and I talked a lot.  Kevin and Wayne showed up later and he and Tenielle talked the whole night.

But as for Jenna and I, we laughed the whole night.  Then one of Jenna’s friends, a little boy from school, came up to me and asked me if I wanted to go out with her.

“I’m her friend.” I said.

“Yeah, but would you go out with her?” he asked.

“Why do we always have to be going out with someone?  Don’t you understand that we are friends?”

“But would you?”

“No, I wouldn’t.”

“Why?”

“Because she wouldn’t be the same person if we were supposed to be in a romantic relationship.  Neither would I.  It’s better this way.”

This little kid looked at me so strangely and then said, “You know her that well?”

I said, “Yes.  Yes I do.”

He shrugged and walked away.

Although Jenna and I are only friends, she is a special friend that I often think about romantically, but that doesn’t mean I have to act on those thoughts.  Remember when I wrote in my journal that I wonder if I’ll ever think about another girl up at Lees-McRae as much as I thought about Ryan?

If only I knew that it would happen before I even got up there.

Leave a Reply

