May 17, 1994 – Tuesday – 5:25 p.m.

It’s Tuesday.  There are 13 days of school left.

Tenielle and Jenna didn’t surprise me, but she called me once she got home.  So did Cheryl.  Everyone wanted to know where we were.

I went with Marcus to his concert Saturday and I met Kenny there.  I sat with him and afterwards we went to Sanford to go to church.  Jenna and Tenielle weren’t there that night.  After church Kenny and Marcus and I, along with Cheryl and Scott went to Golden Corral to eat.

Kenny and Scott had never met.  So, Kenny wanted to us to tell Scott that Kenny was a foreign exchange student from Sweden.  And for two hours, we had Scott going.  He believed everything Kenny said, and I mean everything and it was all made up on the spur of the moment.  We finally told Scott while we were taking Cheryl home and he felt so stupid.  It was like Mrs. Doubtfire.  I just hope Scott didn’t take it too personally.  He said he would never forget it, but that he would get us back.

I finished writing Tenielle’s letter yesterday.  It is about 16 pages long.

I can’t believe school is coming to an end.  Everyone is opening up more to each other.  Including me.

It feels like this year just started.

Speaking of a year, it has been exactly one year since I first read Winter Dreams by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Those things you want so deeply, but deep down you know you’ll never get them.

Ryan was my Winter Dream back then.

I have two now.  But I have them the way I want them:  as close friends.  But the Winter part is that I want them close forever.  I don’t want a day to go by without them.  But I know that will never truly be.

Leave a Reply

