February 20, 1994 – Sunday – 7:25 a.m.

It’s Sunday morning.  Yesterday was different.

The day before was great with one thing I could have done without, but I shouldn’t be surprised because it happened with all of the others, so why not this time.

Jonathan called me Friday afternoon.  I should have known right then and there that something was wrong.  Jonathan hasn’t called me in months.  He said he wanted to do something that night.  I told him I was working until 8:00 p.m., and then going to the VIP thing.  He said he wanted to go.  Jonathan was at the first one.

I knew this night was going to hurt a little bit.

So we went but I had to pick up Jenna and Tenielle from the Valentine’s dance at West Lee Middle School.  We went by there at 9:00 p.m.

A woman let me look for them, but she had to come with me.  Tenielle saw me and came up to me.  She was beautiful.

They were having a great time so she wanted me to come back at 10:00 p.m.  Jonathan and I went to Mr. Gatti’s, stayed there for 45 minutes, and then went back to West Lee.  The dance was over, there was a little girl named Shannon with them who was going to spend the night.  She came along and we all went to Mr. Gatti’s.

As you should know, Jonathan is a flirt and a half.  Friday night, he was two flirts and a third.  So the night went on, we played these little games, nothing much happened.

Everyone is waking up, so I’m going to go.  I’ll finish this later.

. . .

It is later, I’m in Bonlee and it’s almost 10:00 p.m.  Where was I?

Yes, on our way to Cameron.  When we got to their house we jumped on the trampoline.  Jonathan flirted and I felt a little uncomfortable because I care about both of them.  I just know the way Jonathan thinks.

Jenna and Tenielle gave me pictures of themselves.  They look great.

We said our goodbyes and left.  On the way home Jonathan asked me to invite him to future events related to Jenna and Tenielle.  

Yeah, right!

I got home about one in the morning.  Saturday, we went to band practice and then we helped Wayne’s family move.  Sunny and Shar were there; it was a lot of fun.  Sunny asked Marcus if he was going to get braces.  She didn’t know that it would hurt is feelings in the way that it did.  I’m not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this in my journal, I often forget that you can’t see these people every day, but Marcus is extremely bucktoothed, meaning his first two teeth stick way out, add that to the fact that he’s black and you can imagine he is often made fun of (called Buckwheat, etc.) and is very self conscience about his teeth.

Oh well, I dropped Marcus off at the basketball courts and just let him be.  He wanted to be alone.  He is sick of people talking about his teeth.  It’s not like he’s retarded, the dude just has big teeth.  Leave him alone.  I kind of have a crooked chin.  So what!  People are people.

Well, I didn’t know what to do.  I called Jenna earlier.  They were baby sitting.  I told Jenna what Jonathan said.  She laughed.

I didn’t really want to go see them so I went to see Ryan instead, but they weren’t home.  So, I put some gas in the car and I drove around.  I heard that Southern Pines was a beautiful place.  It’s the Golf Capital of the World, so that is where I ended up.  There was huge beautiful pine trees everywhere.

It was fun driving around alone.  I picked Marcus up, we went out to eat.  I had to get back to Bonlee to watch the kids.  I did and it was fun as usual.

Today at church, I learned by putting two and two together that Scott and Cheryl went out Friday night.  Scott doesn’t know that I know and Marcus doesn’t know at all.  Cheryl didn’t tell me, but I’ll explain all that in detail later.  I don’t know if I told you, but Jonathan and Vicky broke up.  That’s probably why he called me.

But he couldn’t come to church this morning.  He’ll be around some more, but only because of Jenna and Tenielle.  I’m not going to stop him though.  Not unless he gets like he got back in October of 1992 with Christi.

After church we went to Scott’s, had a cookout with some of his relatives.  Afterwards I stopped by Christi’s.  Christi gave me three tapes.  I didn’t feel anything between us then.  Perhaps her dad is just a matchmaker.

Tonight’s service was great.  Life is sort of getting back to normal.  Whatever that is.

The days are warmer.  But the sun has set and only a few birds are flying around.

I’m waiting for a new sun to arise.

Leave a Reply

