December 22, 1993 – Wednesday – 10:25 p.m.

It’s Wednesday.  It’s snowing.

My emotions are in a mix now.  I’m not sure what I’m feeling.

Monday night, I spent the night with Danny and Peter.  We had fun.

Tonight, when I came into church, I saw Anne.  She was home for the Holidays.  I talked to her and said, “So, I heard things changed up your way,” referring, of course, to her break up with Jason.

She smiled.  “Oh yeah.  Things did change and I haven’t talked to him since.”

Why do things work that way?

I didn’t think Jenna and Tenielle were going to come tonight, but they showed up in the middle of praise and worship.  I think they got it backwards when Shar said that Tenielle liked me more than Jenna.  Tenielle said, “hey dude!” and Rebecca, another one of that young clan, asked for me to wait up for Jenna.  I did, but it turns out Jenna was too embarrassed to talk to me.  In fact, she didn’t say a word, she just reached out and gave me a little wrapped gift.

On it is a little note, tied on with ribbon.

The note said:

“This is a very special gift

That you can never see

The reason it’s so special is

It’s just for you from me

Whenever you are lonely

Or even feeling blue

You only have to hold this gift

And know I think of you

You can never unwrap it

Please leave the ribbon tied

Just hold the box close to your heart

It’s filled with love inside.

1 Cor. 13:13  So Faith, Hope, Love,

Abide these three,

But the great of these

is Love.”

Image

Jenna doesn’t even know me.

She knows nothing of me.

She knows not what makes me tick or anything.

Nor do I know anything about her.

Friday morning I will go to Virginia and I won’t come back until the new year.

1994.

1976.

Amazing.

 

Leave a Reply

