August 13, 1993 – Friday – 11:32 p.m.

“The best laid plans of mice and men oft go awry.”

My plans just went a little awry.  I’m sure it being Friday the 13th had nothing to do with it.

I mowed the grass all day yesterday and Danny and I, plus Mike, went to see The Fugitive.  It was great.

Onto today.  First of all, it rained all day.  That meant that we couldn’t go swimming.  Then around 10 o’clock this morning, Ryan called and said that Cheryl couldn’t come so it was up to me if we still wanted to do it.  I said yes, but that we should meet later on at 1 o’clock.

Nate and I went. Ryan and Amy were the only ones there along with David.  Nathan and David played while we talked about stuff and then we watched some old home videos from about five years ago.

Ryan was ten and Amy was around 8.  They were so adorable.  Their little selves just dancing around.  Ryan looked so cute.  Together they did childish little things in front of the camera that were so sweet and funny.  Those images have been running through my mind all day.

About 30 minutes later, Kevin calls from Mickey Dees and says he is ready to go.

Daggummit!

So, I left with Nate and picked him up and headed home.  I wrote a little bit before work that night.  Ruth helped me a lot on the fries, but not as much as I thought she would.  Tina was there.  She’s fine and driving to college in Greensboro in a new car everyday, so she must be doing okay.

The day didn’t go as planned, but I saw Ryan, even if it was only for 30 minutes.  That was enough, and that is all that matters.

The last time I was actually inside her house was back on Feb. 20th, 1993.  She was going with Andy then and I was going with Veronica.

Almost six months have passed.

Six months.

That’s how long Marius went without even seeing “his Ursula.”

Things always change.

What will Ryan mean to me in six months?

What about six years?

Will she be a person very close and important to me or will she simply be a beautiful girl I had a crush on while I was a teenager?

Whatever happens, she is so much more than that to me now.

Leave a Reply

